Club History

Bridgnorth Spartans JFC has a long history of local football going back to the late 1800’s. Its best period was probably immediately pre World War 2 when Bridgnorth Spartans JFC Colliery won the Notts Senior Cup in 1937/38 and its Reserve Team won the Intermediate Cup in 1936/37.

Bridgnorth Spartans JFC Colliery ceased to function in the 1980’s and was reformed in 1988 as Bridgnorth Spartans JFC Bevercotes Miners Welfare F.C. and entered the Mansfield Bitter League. The club entered the Notts Football Alliance in 1991 and were Division 2 Champions in season 1992/93.

Bridgnorth Spartans Junior Field

Following the closure of Bridgnorth Spartans JFC Colliery in 1994, a decision was taken to rename the team Bridgnorth Spartans JFC Town, but it remains a section of Bridgnorth Spartans JFC Bevercotes Miners Welfare. It represents the whole community of Bridgnorth Spartans JFC, just as its predecessor Bridgnorth Spartans JFC Colliery did.

In season 1995/96 Bridgnorth Spartans JFC Town won the Notts Alliance First Division and in 1999/2000 was runner-up in the Senior Division. 2000/01 saw Bridgnorth Spartans JFC enter the Central Midlands League and the National Pyramid of Football.Under Adge Owen, who now takes up the role of General Manager.

The ambitions of the Club are clearly visible upon arriving at The Lane in the form of the Club’s splendidly constructed spectator stand. The Stand, built in 2001, is dedicated to the memory of former players Wayne Brewin, Craig Charlton and Peter Abram, and was officially opened by former England star, Des Walker, in front of a then record crowd of over 200.

Touchingly, the names of Wayne,Craig & Peter are embedded in the brick work of The Stand. A factor which helped finance the building work was the supporters generosity in buying commemorative bricks bearing their own names, which have then been set into the rear of the stand. Not one to miss an opportunity, the Club can still arrange for inscribed bricks to added.
At the end of the 2005/06 season Don Gethfield’s right-hand man Mick Heron left the club because of work commitments. So we moved quickly to appoint local man David Kent as our new assistant manager.
David is a popular figure amongst the players and in his playing days was considered by many to be one of the best local players on the non-league circuit.
In season 07-08 he, along with Don and Anthony Thompson, produced a team that became Central Midlands Premier Divison Champions, Notts Senior Cup finalists, Flood-Lit cup semi-finalists and C.M.L team of the season.
The players showed great desire and played with a sense of civic pride and fully deserved every accolade.

The Senior Cup final was held at Meadow Lane and we took several buses to the game to see the side battle bravely against Eastwood Town despite going down two goals to nil.
In the sides first season in the Supreme Division the side finished a respectable 3rd and also took part in the FA Vase for the first time in the clubs history.

On Friday 13th August 2010, The club held an evening at Boughton social club to celebrate the lives of Wayne Brewin,Pete Abram and Craig Charlton and to raise money for Charity. Everyone who attended the event had a great time. On the Sunday, the club also held a Charity football game between an Bridgnorth Spartans JFC Town XI and a Bridgnorth Spartans JFC legends side made up of people who played with Wayne,Pete and Craig. The Legends ran out winners by two goals to one but the most important thing is the money raised goes to a good cause.

Don Gethfield left his role as Manager at the end of the 2010-2011 season and was replaced by former Kimberely Manager Paul Rawden. Paul lasted until October when he left to take over as Manager of Radford FC. Adge Owen took over as caretaker Manager until the club appointed former Kirkby Manager Dave Winter as Manager. Dave was joined by Stephen Bodle and Gaz Noble who he had worked with at Kirkby.